Skip Navigation

How to Delete a Nintendo Network ID on a Nintendo 3DS Family System

Nintendo 3DS

In this article, you'll learn how to delete a Nintendo Network ID from a Nintendo 3DS family system.

Note
  • You can format the system to remove the Nintendo Network ID without deleting it. Nintendo Network accounts removed in this way will not be deleted from the Wii U (if linked), and can be relinked to the same Nintendo 3DS system again in the future.
  • Deleting a Nintendo Network ID will also delete the following information associated to the account: Nintendo eShop activity and balance, Friend List, and registered e-mail address.
  • If the Nintendo Network ID has also been linked to a Wii U, deleting the account will delete the above information from both systems.
  • The username associated to a deleted Nintendo Network account cannot be reused to create a new Nintendo Network account.

Complete these steps

  1. Select System Settings from the HOME Menu.
  2. Select Nintendo Network ID Settings.
  3. Select Other.
  4. Select Delete Nintendo Network ID.
  5. If prompted, enter the 4-digit PIN and select OK.
  6. Select your reason for deleting from the options on the screen.
    • Depending on what you are trying to change, NNID deletion may not always be the best option.
    • If you are certain you want to delete your NNID, select the bottom option (I want to delete my NNID and all Nintendo eShop funds, software licenses, etc that are associated to it).
  7. Read through the information on the screen and select Next on the next three screens to continue.
  8. Select Next.
  9. Read through the information on the screen and agree to the following points:
    • The Nintendo eShop and all associated purchases will be deleted, and cannot be downloaded. This applies to purchases made with this Nintendo Network ID both on the Wii U and Nintendo 3DS.
    • Any remaining balance in the Nintendo eShop account will be deleted and cannot be recovered or refunded. This applies to funds added to this Nintendo Network ID both on the Wii U and Nintendo 3DS.
    • The Friends List associated to this Nintendo Network ID will be deleted.
  10. Select Understood at the bottom of the page.
    • You will not be able to select this option until you have agreed to each of the four points listed above. If the option is grayed out, reread through the information and make sure you have selected the correct option to agree.
    • If you want to remove the Nintendo Network ID from the system without deleting the associated Nintendo eShop purchases and Friend List, you can format your system instead. A Nintendo Network ID removed in this way will retain this information, and can be relinked to the same system again in the future.
  11. Select Next, then select Delete.
  12. Enter the password associated to the Nintendo Network ID, then select Confirm.
  13. Select Delete one more time to confirm deletion of the Nintendo Network ID. If you do not want to delete the account, tap Cancel.

Was this helpful?