Skip Navigation

How to Format a Nintendo 3DS Family System's Memory

Nintendo 3DS

In this article, you'll learn how to format system memory.

Note
  • Formatting does not allow you to link the Nintendo Network ID to another system.
    • Use the System Transfer option to move the Nintendo Network ID to another system.
  • If the system does not have an Nintendo Network ID linked and is being sold or given to someone else, remove the Nintendo eShop account before formatting the System Memory.

Complete these steps

  1. Have you linked a Nintendo Network ID to your Nintendo 3DS?
    1. Select the System Settings icon on the HOME Menu, and tap Open.
    2. Tap Other Settings.
    3. For Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo 3DS XL, and Nintendo 2DS, tap the right arrow three times until you reach page four, then tap Format System Memory.
      • For New Nintendo 3DS and New Nintendo 3DS XL, tap the right arrow four times until you reach page five, then tap Format System Memory.
      • If required, enter your Parental Controls PIN.
    4. Tap OK when asked if you are ready to connect to the Internet.
    5. Once your Internet connection is confirmed, read what will be lost when formatting the system by selecting Next.
    6. Tap Format.
    7. Tap Format again to erase the data.
    1. Select the System Settings icon on the HOME Menu, and tap Open.
    2. Tap Other Settings.
    3. For Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo 3DS XL, and Nintendo 2DS, tap the right arrow three times until you reach page four, then tap Format System Memory.
      • For New Nintendo 3DS and New Nintendo 3DS XL, tap the right arrow four times until you reach page five, then tap Format System Memory.
      • If required, enter your Parental Controls PIN.
      • Read what will be lost when formatting the system.
    4. Tap Format.
    5. Tap Format again to erase the data.

Was this helpful?