How to Delete a Nintendo Network ID on Wii U
Wii U
In this article you'll learn how to delete a Nintendo Network ID and associated account from a Wii U system.
Important
- Deactivating a Nintendo Network ID will also delete the following information associated to the account: Nintendo eShop activity and balance, Friend List, Miiverse activity, and registered e-mail address.
- If the Nintendo Network ID has also been linked to a Nintendo 3DS, deleting the account will delete the above information from both systems.
- Deactivated accounts cannot be restored. This includes all licenses and funds associated to deleted accounts in the Nintendo eShop.
- The username associated to a deactivated Nintendo Network account cannot be reused to create a new Nintendo Network account.
Note
- If you do not want to permanently delete the Nintendo Network ID, you can choose to Delete User instead. Nintendo Network accounts removed in this way will not be deleted from the Nintendo 3DS (if linked), and can be relinked to the same Wii U console in the future.
Complete these steps
- On the Wii U Menu, select the Mii character in the upper-left corner to access the User Settings.
- Tap Delete This User.
- If this selection is grey, there is only one account on the system, and it cannot be deleted. You will need to format the system instead.
- If prompted, enter the four-digit PIN and select OK.
- Enter the password associated to the Nintendo Network ID, then select OK. (Forgot Password?)
- The nickname and Nintendo Network ID associated to the account will display. Select Next to continue.
- Select Understood to agree to delete the save data and play times associated with the user. Select Next to continue.