Skip Navigation

How to Delete a Nintendo Network ID on Wii U

Wii U

In this article you'll learn how to delete a Nintendo Network ID and associated account from a Wii U system.

Note
  • If you do not want to permanently delete the Nintendo Network ID, you can choose to Delete User instead. Nintendo Network accounts removed in this way will not be deleted from the Nintendo 3DS (if linked), and can be relinked to the same Wii U console in the future.

Complete these steps

  1. On the Wii U Menu, select the Mii character in the upper-left corner to access the User Settings.
  2. Tap Delete This User.
    • If this selection is grey, there is only one account on the system, and it cannot be deleted. You will need to format the system instead.
  3. If prompted, enter the four-digit PIN and select OK.
  4. Enter the password associated to the Nintendo Network ID, then select OK. (Forgot Password?)
  5. The nickname and Nintendo Network ID associated to the account will display. Select Next to continue.
  6. Select Understood to agree to delete the save data and play times associated with the user. Select Next to continue.
  1. Do you want to delete just the user account (Mii, save data) or the user account AND Nintendo Network ID?
  2. Important
    • Deleting the user account will delete the save data, user Mii, and play records associated to the account, but will not delete the Nintendo Network account. The Nintendo Network ID can be relinked to the same console in the future.
    1. Select Next to continue.
    2. Select Delete.
      • Your Nintendo Network ID will not be deleted, and can be relinked to the same system in the future.
    3. Select OK to return to the Wii U HOME Menu.
    Important
    • Deleting the Nintendo Network ID will also delete all Nintendo eShop licenses and balances on both the Wii U AND Nintendo 3DS family systems.
    • Deleted Nintendo Network accounts cannot be recovered. This includes ALL purchases or funds lost when the account is deleted.
    • A deleted Nintendo Network ID cannot be used again to create a new account. Once it is deleted, that username is gone.
    • The Nintendo Network ID should only be deleted if you do not want to use it or access purchases made with it (on Wii U or Nintendo 3DS) ever again.
    • Even if you are no longer planning to use the Nintendo Network account, it is strongly recommended that you delete just the user account. That will keep your Nintendo Network ID (and related purchases) available to you to use again in the future.
    1. If you are positive that you want to delete the Nintendo Network account in addition to the user account on the system, press the X Button.
    2. Read through the onscreen information, and agree to the following points:
      • The Nintendo eShop and all associated purchases will be deleted, and cannot be downloaded. This applies to purchases made with this Nintendo Network ID both on the Wii U and Nintendo 3DS.
      • Any remaining balance in the Nintendo eShop account will be deleted and cannot be recovered or refunded. This applies to funds added to this Nintendo Network ID both on the Wii U and Nintendo 3DS.
      • The Friends List associated to this Nintendo Network ID will be deleted.
      • Any posts and comments made on Miiverse will be deleted.
      • Deleted Nintendo Network accounts cannot be recovered.
    3. Select Understood at the bottom of the page.
      • You will not be able to select this option until you have agreed to each of the four points listed above. If the option is grayed out, reread through the information and make sure you have selected the correct option to agree.
      • If you want to remove the user account from the system without deleting the associated Nintendo eShop purchases, Friend List, and Miiverse postings, select Back and follow the steps for "I want to delete the user account" above. A Nintendo Network account removed in this way will retain this information, and can be relinked to the same system again in the future.
    4. Select Next, then select Delete.
    5. Select OK to return to the Wii U HOME Menu.

Was this helpful?