Skip Navigation

What Is and What Is Not Transferred During a Wii U to Wii U System Transfer

Wii U
The following is transferred during the system transfer process:
  • All users and any Nintendo Network IDs. Content associated with any transferred Nintendo Network IDs will be available on the target system, including:
    • Software and funds from the Nintendo eShop
    • Friend List data
  • Parental Control settings
  • Save data from the source system, including:
    • Save data from games
    • Data from applications, such as Daily Log, Internet Browser, Animal Crossing Plaza, video on demand applications, etc.
    • Mii characters from Mii Maker
  • All downloaded content, including add-on content, preinstalled data, update data, etc. The downloaded content will automatically download to the target system once the transfer has been completed
  • USB storage data. Any device that has been synced with the source Wii U will be available to use on the target Wii U if connected
  • Wii Menu data, including downloads, save data, and any Wii Points
The following is not transferred during the system transfer process:
  • Internet Settings, TV Settings, and TV Remote Settings
  • Sync information for Wii Remotes, Wii U Pro Controllers, Balance Boards, and other controllers that were used on the source system

Was this helpful?