Skip Navigation

What is Lost after Formatting the System Memory on Nintendo 3DS Family?

Nintendo 3DS

The following information will be lost after formatting the system memory:

  • All data in the System Memory (including friend list, Notifications, and step count)
  • System Settings data
  • Built-in software save data
  • Software update data
  • Data stored on the SD Card, with the exception of photos and videos that you've recorded, will be invalidated. Any downloaded software will need to be redownloaded after the format.
  • Downloadable software save data
  • All photos in the System Memory
  • All other extra data
  • The link to a Nintendo Network ID and any associated Nintendo eShop licenses and funds
    • Nintendo eShop software licenses and funds will not be removed if a Nintendo Network ID has not been linked
    • A Nintendo Network ID can be only linked to a different system by performing a system transfer

Was this helpful?