Skip Navigation

How to Transfer Content Between Two New Nintendo 3DS Systems

Nintendo 3DS

In this article, you'll learn how to transfer content between two New Nintendo 3DS systems.

Complete these steps

On the source system
  1. From the HOME Menu tap the System Settings icon and then Open.
  2. Tap Other Settings.
  3. Tap 4 and then System Transfer.
    • On New Nintendo 2DS XL, tap 3 and then System Transfer.
  4. Tap Transfer from Nintendo 3DS.
  5. Read the information about the transfer and tap Agree.
  6. Tap Send from This System.
  7. If you have linked a Nintendo Network ID press Next and use the on-screen keyboard to enter your Nintendo Network ID password.
On the target system
  1. From the HOME Menu tap the System Settings icon and then Open.
  2. Tap Other Settings.
  3. Tap 4 and then System Transfer.
    • On New Nintendo 2DS XL, tap 3 and then System Transfer.
  4. Tap Transfer from Nintendo 3DS.
  5. Read the information about the transfer and tap Agree.
  6. Tap Receive from Nintendo 3DS.
On the source system
  1. Select the system that will receive the transfer.
On the target system
  1. Tap Yes to accept the transfer.
On the source system
  1. Read the transfer information and tap Next to continue.
  2. Tap Yes to confirm.
  3. Tap the blue Transfer button to continue.
On the target system
  1. Tap Delete to confirm deletion of all Nintendo 3DS data on the target system's SD Card. Tap the red Delete button. Tap next when the transfer is complete.
    • If Do Not Delete is selected, the Target system will request to perform the transfer without deleting the Nintendo 3DS data on the SD Card. Tap Yes to begin the transfer.
    • No matter which option is selected, you will need to redownload any preinstalled titles on the target system once the transfer has been completed.
  2. When the transfer is complete, tap OK to restart the system.
On the source system
  1. Remove the microSD Card from the source system as it will now be used in the target system. Once the micro SD Card has been moved to the new system, the transfer is complete.

Was this helpful?