How to Reset amiibo Data on Nintendo 3DS Family
Nintendo 3DS
In this article, you'll learn how to erase all data on the amiibo, including game data, user data, and nickname data.
Note: Resetting amiibo data will delete both game data and user/nickname data. You may also find our information on erasing amiibo game data helpful.
Complete these steps
- From the HOME Menu, open HOME Menu Settings by clicking the icon of the home wrench at the top left of the screen.
- Scroll down and select amiibo Settings.
- Select Reset amiibo.
- Place the amiibo on the bottom screen of the New Nintendo 3DS XL, making sure to keep the figure steady.
- If the amiibo is not kept steady, or you remove and replace the amiibo, you may get an error message stating that device being used is not an amiibo. If this message is received, tap OK and try again.
- Remove the amiibo once it has been read.
- Review the data to be deleted and select Next.
- Read the onscreen warning and tap Reset if you are OK with losing the amiibo's game data, owner data, and nickname data.
- Place the amiibo back on the lower screen.
- You will receive a message when the reset is complete.