What Is Lost After Restoring the Nintendo Switch 2 to Factory Settings?
Nintendo Switch 2
Information
Restoring the Nintendo Switch 2 console to factory settings will remove the following data:
- All data in the console memory, including software data, save data, screenshots, videos, and user information will be deleted, restoring the console to factory settings.
- If you have save data backups stored to the Save Data Cloud service, you will be able to download them once you create a new user and link to it your Nintendo Account.
- All software saved on the microSD Express card, except for screenshots and videos, will become unusable. Data on the microSD Express card will not be deleted.
- Any Nintendo Accounts linked to the console will not be deleted, but they will be unlinked from the console. After restoring the console to factory settings, you can create a new user and link to it your Nintendo Account.
- Your Nintendo Account contains your Nintendo eShop purchase history and balance. By re-linking your Nintendo Account after restoring the console to factory settings to the same console (or a different one), it is possible to re-download any software or DLC purchased using that account.
Additional information
You can also restore the console to factory settings without deleting save data via Recovery Mode, which will retain save data and user settings on the console.