Skip Navigation

Error Message: “The play time available for this software has ended.”

Nintendo Switch 2, Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch Lite, Nintendo Switch - OLED Model

The information in this article can help when, while trying to start a game, you receive the error message: “The play time available for this software has ended. To continue playing, you can purchase the software and pick up where you left off.”

This error message indicates that the trial period has ended for the selected Game Trial. To continue playing, you must purchase the game.

  • A Game Trial is available to Nintendo Switch Online members for a select period of time. View our Game Trial FAQ for more information.
  • If you purchase the game, your save data from the Game Trial will carry over so that you can pick up where you left off.
  • To remove the Game Trial from your HOME Menu, delete or archive the software from the system settings.
    • This will not delete your save data. You can manage your save data separately through the system settings.
      • How to delete save data on Nintendo Switch 2
        1. Select System Settings from the HOME Menu. The System Settings icon highlighted on the HOME Menu on Nintendo Switch 2
        2. Select Data Management.
        3. Select Delete Save Data.
        4. Choose the software you want to delete the save data for from the list.
        5. Choose the user you want to delete the save data for.
          • Some software, like Animal Crossing: New Horizons, may share save data between all other users and won't be able to be deleted per user.
          • Select Delete All Save Data for This Software to delete this save data. It will delete the save data for the software for all users.
        6. Review the pop up screen information.
        7. Select Delete Save Data.
      • How to delete save data on Nintendo Switch
        1. Select System Settings from the HOME Menu.
        2. Scroll down and select Data ManagementGestión de datosGestion des donnéesGerenciar dados, then Delete Save Data.
          • Enter your Parental Controls PIN, if prompted.
        3. Select the game title for which you want to delete the save data.
        4. Select the user whose save data you want to delete, or select Delete All Save Data for this Software to delete the save data for all users.
        5. Select Delete Save Data to confirm.

Was this helpful?