What Is Lost after Formatting the System Memory on Wii?
Wii & Wii mini
When the Wii System Memory is formatted, most of the information stored on the system is erased; however, some information will remain.
What is lost
- Wii System Settings (Parental Controls, Internet Settings, etc.)
- Game Save Data
- Channel Save Data
- Downloaded Virtual Console Games (licenses are retained)
- Downloaded WiiWare Games (licenses are retained)
- Downloaded Channels - Everybody Votes, Internet Channel, etc. (licenses are retained)
- Custom Channel Settings
- Mii characters
- Message Board Content
- Wii Number (this will change to a new number)
What is retained
- Current Operating System
- Licenses for all downloaded games and channels from the Wii Shop Channel (save information will be lost, and they will need to be re-downloaded)
- Data stored on external accessories (SD card, Nintendo GameCube Memory Card, etc.)
- MAC Address
- Sync Information