Skip Navigation

How to Edit User Profile Settings on Nintendo Switch

Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch Lite, Nintendo Switch - OLED Model

In this article, you'll learn how to adjust a user’s profile settings, including nickname, icon, and background on the Nintendo Switch console.

Complete these steps

You can reach the User Settings menu the following ways:

From the user's page
  1. From the HOME Menu, select the user’s page you wish to edit. A red user icon with Mario's face selected in the upper-left corner of the Nintendo Switch HOME Menu
  2. Select User Settings. User Settings selected on the user's page and a list of adjustable settings displayed on the right side
From System Settings
  1. From the HOME Menu, select System Settings. System Settings being highlighted on the HOME Menu Screen
  2. Scroll down the options on the left and select UsersUsuariosUtilisateursUsuários. Then select the user profile you wish to edit.
  • Profile Settings

    The following Profile Settings can be adjusted for each user:

    • Nickname: Edit the nickname that can be seen by other players.
    • Edit Icon: Select a character or Mii, or adjust the background.
    • Play Activity Settings: Choose who is able to see your play activity when they view your profile, between all users, friends, best friends, or no one. Other users on the console will still be able to view your play activity by selecting your user.
      • You can also delete your play activity.
  • Nintendo Account, Nintendo Switch Online, and Nintendo eShop
    • Nintendo Account: You can check your Nintendo Account information and display a QR Code to check in at Nintendo events and locations.
    • Nintendo Switch Online: You can jump to your subscriptions in Nintendo eShop.
    • Nintendo eShop: You can jump to your account settings in Nintendo eShop to change saved payment information and other various settings. You can also update download progress for software that is currently downloading.
  • Friend Functions

    The following Friend Settings can be adjusted for each user:

    • Display online status to: Select who can see when you are online, between all friends, best friends, or no one.
    • Receive Friend Requests: Toggle friend requests on or off to control whether people can add you as a friend.
    • Friend-Notification Settings: Select which notifications can appear when you are online and from whom to display certain notifications.
      • Notification options
        • Friend-Request Notification: On or Off.
        • Online Users: On or Off.
        • Notify When Friends Go Online: All Friends, Best Friends Only, or None.
        • Invite Notifications: All Friends, Best Friends Only, or None.
        • Voice-Chat Notifications: On or Off.
    • Reissue Friend Code: This will change your friend code if you are receiving requests from unwanted or unknown users. Please note this can only be changed once every 30 days.
    • Manage Blocked-User List: View a list of users you have blocked. By selecting a user, you can view the reason you blocked them, their nickname and in-game name from where you played with them, and the date you blocked them. You can also unblock them.
  • Album

    Select Posting to Social Media to link a Facebook account that you can use to share your captured screenshots and videos.

  • User Support

    Select Number for Customer Support to view an identification number that may be required for customer support inquiries.

  • Delete User

    Note: This option can only be selected if you accessed User Settings through System Settings, not through the User Page.

    See our article on how to delete a user account for steps and more information.

Was this helpful?