What Happens to My Nintendo eShop Purchases When I Link a Nintendo Network ID?
Nintendo 3DS, Wii U
All purchases and funds added to your Nintendo eShop ID will be retained after creating (or linking) a Nintendo Network ID on the system.
What is retained
- All game licenses purchased prior to linking a Nintendo Network ID.
- Funds added prior to linking a Nintendo Network ID. (See What is NOT retained for restrictions.)
- Additionally, if a Nintendo Network ID is linked to both a Wii U and a Nintendo 3DS, the Nintendo eShop balance is consolidated and shared between them.
- All free software demos downloaded prior to linking a Nintendo Network ID.
What is NOT retained
- Any remaining Nintendo eShop balance that does not match the currency for the Nintendo Network account's country of residence will be erased without refund when the account is linked.
- For example, if funds have been added to a system set up for Mexico, those funds will be deleted from the system if you link a Nintendo Network ID that is set up for the United States. A Nintendo Network account cannot be associated to two different regions.
- Software licenses purchased for a different region will still be available for redownload to the system. However, please note that software availability can vary by region. If a game is not available in the country you have associated to your account, it will not be available to redownload.