Skip Navigation

How to Copy or Move Data between Two External Storage Devices

Wii U

In this article, you'll learn how to transfer data between two USB storage devices.

Note
  • If you copy save data from your system memory to a USB storage device, the USB storage device will become the default location for all new saves for that title.
  • If you copy save data from a USB storage device to system memory, the USB storage device data will remain the default location and all new saves will continue to be saved to the USB storage device. This cannot be changed unless the USB storage device is removed.
  • If you copy data between two USB storage devices, whichever device remains connected to the Wii U after the transfer will become the default location for all new saves.

Complete these steps

  1. Connect the USB storage devices to the Wii U console, and then power on the Wii U.
  2. After the Wii U Menu loads, you will be prompted to enter Data Management to move or copy data.
    Prompt Pop Up giving the options to Cancel or Manage Data
  3. Using the Left Stick, scroll to the Data Management icon and press the A Button.
    Data Management screen
  4. Select Copy/Move/Delete Data.
  5. Select the location from which you'd like to copy or move data.
    USB Storage Device 1 selected to copy the data to on the Copy/Move/Delete Data screen
  6. Press the X or Y Button to move or copy data.
    The Select software to copy/move screen
  7. Tap the items you'd like to copy or move to select them. Once selected, a green box with a white checkmark will show next to the item.
    Applications selected to copy/move on the Select software to copy/move screen
  8. Once the items have been selected, press the Y Button to copy the item or the X Button to move the item.
  9. Choose the location where you would like to copy or move the selected items.
    USB Storage Device 1 selected to copy or move the previously selected software to
  10. At this point you will be prompted to move or copy the data. Select Move or Copy to confirm the transfer.
    • If the data you are transferring already exists on the location you are copying to, you will be prompted with a message asking you to confirm the overwrite.
    • Depending on the amount of data, this process can take more than an hour to complete. If your system is up to date, you may cancel this process at any time; however, if you still have an older menu version, the option to cancel this process will not be available.
      The Cancel option selected on the Prompt Pop Up for overwriting data

Was this helpful?