How to Use the Save Data Transfer Tool
Nintendo 3DS
In this article, you'll learn how to use the Save Data Transfer Tool.
Important
- An Internet connection is required to transfer save data.
- Do not turn off the power or remove the Game Card when transferring save data.
Note
- The Save Data Transfer Tool is used to transfer save data; it does not copy save data. Once transferred, the original save data is deleted.
- Depending on the game, extra data may be saved onto an SD Card (StreetPass data, SpotPass data, etc.). If you wish to retain this data, you must transfer save data to the same SD Card.
- Save data can only be transferred from the retail version of software to the downloadable version. You cannot transfer save data from the downloadable version of software to the retail version, and you cannot transfer save data between two copies of the retail version of software.
- Any save data already on the downloadable version of the software will be overwritten during the transfer process.
- Ensure your system has the latest system update as system menu version 5.0.0-11U or higher is required to use the Save Data Transfer Tool.
Complete these steps
- Ensure the SD Card inserted into your system has the downloadable version of the software installed.
- Connect to the Nintendo eShop and download the Save Data Transfer Tool.
- Insert the retail version of the software into system.
- From the HOME Menu, select the Save Data Transfer Tool.
- Read the on-screen instructions carefully, and tap the transfer button when ready to transfer save data.
Important: Do not turn the power OFF or remove the Game Card during the save data transfer process. This can cause the save data to become corrupt or lost. If the save data is lost during the transfer process, it cannot be recovered.